Walk the Moon Watches

Earlier in the touring cycle for Talking is Hard, my buddies in Walk the Moon‘s team asked me for new ideas for merch items; novelty products that other bands aren’t regularly selling, and would do well with their audience. I came up with this idea to do plastic, 90’s-style watches, for which I also created a custom pattern for the wristband, inspired by the patterns you’d see on Nickelodeon. Needless to say, I’ve never designed a watch prior to these, and had a blast putting it together. You can grab one right now in the band’s online store!

Special thanks to the band’s tour photographer Anna Lee for the photos of fans wearing the watches.


Cloakroom Posters

It’s been almost two months since I’ve printed up a gig-poster, but I couldn’t resist doing one more poster this year. On January 2nd, Cloakroom and Wildhoney will start a short tour in Cleveland, at Mahall’s. Cloakroom’s Further Out was one of my favorite records of 2015, so when I learned of the show, I immediately hit them up about doing a poster. It’s loosely inspired by their song Starchild Skull, which I’ve included below.

The prints are three-color screen-prints, 13″ x 25″ on a heavyweight French Steel Grey paper. A small edition of only 79 copies, first available at the show, and in my store on January 3rd. Look at the detail pictures below; these are probably the thinnest lines I’ve ever successfully printed.


Print Regional Design Annual

If you pick up this years issue of Print Magazine‘s Regional Design Annual, you’ll find a little bit of my work on page 111. The poster that Nick Spolarich and I made for Cloud Nothings last year was selected by Charles S. Anderson for the Midwest region of the annual.


Island of Misfit Toys at Akron Art Museum

This year is the tenth Island of Misfit Toys event at Akron Art Museum, and in celebration the museum asked local school children and professional artists to transform Munny, blank vinyl toys, into works of art. Artists of all ages have decorated Munny using pens, pencils, markers, paint, femo, clay, feathers, rocks, found objects and other supplies. The concept for this show was developed by Summit Artspace Gallery Director Rob Lehr, who also curated the artist-created Munny toys. “Play is a critical part to any creative process. Munny allows children and adults alike to explore their creative and playful side combining the joys of art making, sculpture and design,” remarks Lehr.

To compliment the children’s work, Rob asked a small group of professionals–myself included–to contribute a customized Munny to the show. On display are two of my pieces, one from 2012, and a new one created for this event. The Akron Beacon Journal had some kind words to say about my work in their review:

Charlie Wagers created a piece that has a print of a bear sleeping on an iceberg situated behind two sleeping bears in something like a forest. What doesn’t hit you, until you think about it, is that the artist has manipulated the dolls into a sitting position, which is more impressive if you consider he would have had to cut off the legs and reattach them. This change in the dolls has been extremely well done, giving the piece a peaceful and professional look. -Anderson Turner, Akron Beacon Journal.

The work is on display until February 28, 2016, in The Mary S. and David C. Corbin Foundation Gallery of the museum.


2015: Yearly Playlist


2015 was seriously the best. In both regards to work and personal life, this past year brought upon experiences that I couldn’t have fathomed in years past. As I do every year; I’ve put together a list of my favorite records that came out in the last 365 days. I’ve also compiled a Spotify playlist of a bunch of my favorite songs from 2015. Stream it below, or follow the playlist on Spotify. Here’s to hoping 2016 is just as awesome.

15. Nai Harvest – Hairball
14. Title Fight – Hyperview
13. Lady Lamb – After
12. Uncle Acid & the Deadbeats – The Night Creeper
11. Fuzz – II
10. Sean McCann – Ten Impressions for Piano & Strings
9. Annabel – Having it All
8. Lejsovka & Freund – Fatal Strategies
7. Father John Misty – I Love You, Honeybear
6. The Sidekicks – Runners in the Nerved World
5. Shlohmo – Dark Red
4. Cloakroom – Further Out
3. mewithoutYou – Pale Horses
2. Protomartyr – The Agent Intellect
1. Hop Along – Painted Shut